Florida recently announced the new minimum wage for overtime eligible workers in the state. Each year on September 30, the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity adjusts the state’s minimum wage based on the increase in the Consumer Price Index for the South Region of the United States. The new minimum wage becomes effective on January 1, 2020.
Florida’s minimum wage will increase by a dime, from $8.46 per hour to $8.56 per hour (a 1.12% increase) at the start of the new year. Employees covered by the Tip Credit must receive $5.54 per hour (i.e. the new minimum wage minus the current $3.02 tip credit) plus their tips.
Litigation alleging violations of the (federal) Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Florida’s Minimum Wage Statute continues to be one of the most frequently filed employment claims. Therefore, making the necessary adjustments to achieve compliance should be a high priority for Florida employers.
State and local minimum wage obligations that exceed the FLSA’s requirements can surprise an unwary employer. A best practice for employers is to be aware of their obligations under state and local laws, and to periodically confirm that understanding.