2021 California Labor & Employment Law Update / 캘리포니아 노동법 2021년 업데이트

By: Lewis Brisbois' Labor & Employment Team

2021 has been busy so far with the enactment of many labor laws and regulations. This post discusses California's new labor and employment laws as well as California's COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave.

1. Minimum Wage Increase

Pursuant to Senate Bill 3, the minimum wage will increase annually until 2023. Effective January 1, 2021, the minimum hourly wage for employers with 26 or more employees has increased from $13 to $14, and the overtime wage and the minimum salary threshold for exemptions have also increased from $54,080 to $58,240. Increasing the minimum wage will also affect the minimum wage requirements for exempt employees. Therefore, employers are encouraged to review their employees’ exempt status. Learn more.

2. Expanding the California Family Rights Act

The California Family Rights Act (CFRA) authorizes job-protected family and medical leave for eligible California employees up to a total of 12 weeks. Prior to January 1, 2021, the CFRA applied to employers with 50 or more employees. However, pursuant to Senate Bill 1383, effective January 1, 2021, CFRA's family and medical leave requirements also apply to small businesses with five or more employees. To be eligible for the CFRA leave, a California employee must 1) have worked with the employer for at least 12 months, and 2) have worked for the employer for at least 1,250 hours in the last 12 months. In addition, Senate Bill 1383 expanded the rights by granting CFRA leave to employees to care for grandparents, grandchildren, or domestic partner with a serious health condition. Learn more.

3. Pay Data Reporting

Beginning in 2021, Senate Bill 973 requires employers that have 100 or more employees and need to file an EEO-1 report under federal law to report pay and other data to the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH). If you fall into any of the ten job categories listed by the DFEH, your report must include the number of employees and work hours by race, ethnicity, and sex. Additionally, these employees’ annual incomes must be within each of the pay bands used by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics in the Occupational Employment Survey. Employers are required to submit pay and other data reports to the DFEH on March 31 of each year. On its website, the DFEH has published a description and guidance for employers on who should qualify as employees. Learn more.

4. COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave in California

Senate Bill 95 became effective on March 29, 2021. This bill requires employers to grant supplemental paid sick leave to employees for COVID-19 related reasons. It also requires employers with 25 or more employees nationwide to provide up to an additional 80 hours of paid sick leave to employees in California. In addition, the following reasons have been added to qualify for paid sick leave: (1) attending an appointment to receive a vaccine for protection against contracting COVID-19; (2) experiencing symptoms related to a COVID-19 vaccine that prevent the employee from being able to work or telework; 3) caring for a family member who is subject to a quarantine or isolation period related to COVID-19 or has been advised by a healthcare provider to self-quarantine due to concerns related to COVID-19; and (4) school or place of care is closed or otherwise unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19 on the premises. This bill was enacted in March 2021 but shall apply retroactively to January 1, 2021. Employers are therefore encouraged to reconsider their employees' COVID-19-related leave requests. Learn more.

For more information on these developments, contact the author of this post. You can also subscribe to this blog to receive email alerts when new posts go up.

2021 년은 수많은 노동법 규정이 제정된 바쁜 한 해였습니다. 아래 기사는 캘리포니아의 새로운 노동법, 고용법 및 규정, 그리고 캘리포니아의 COVID-19 관련 보완 유급 병가에 대해서 설명합니다.

1. 최저 임금 인상

Senate Bill 3을 통하여 최저 임금은 2023년까지 매년 인상 될 예정입니다. 2021 년 1월 1일부터 26명 이상의 직원을 채용한 고용주의 경우 최저 시급이 $13 에서 $14로 인상되었으며, 추가 근무 급여와 wage 및 hour 관련 법률의 면제 연봉 기준액 또한 $54,080에서 $58,240로 인상되었습니다. 최저 임금의 인상은 exempt employees의 최저 임금 요건에도 영향을 미칩니다. 따라서 고용주들께서는 employee exempt status를 재검토 하시길 권장합니다.

2. California Family Rights Act 확대

California Family Rights Act ( CFRA)는 자격을 갖춘 캘리포니아 직원에게 직장이 보호된 가족 휴가 및 의료 휴가를 최대 12주까지 제공합니다. 2021 년 1월 1일 이전에는 CFRA는 직원이 50명 이상인 고용주에게 적용되었습니다. 그러나, Senate Bill 1383을 통해 2021년 1월 1 일부터 CFRA의 가족 휴가 및 의료 휴가 요건은 직원이 5명 이상인 소기업에도 적용됩니다. CFRA 휴가를 받으려면 캘리포니아 직원이 1) 고용주와 최소 12개월 동안 일을 했으며, 또한 2) 지난 12개월 동안 고용주를 위해 최소 1,250시간 동안 일했어야 합니다. 더불어 Senate Bill 1383은 심각한 질병을 앓고 있는 조부모, 손자 또는 동거인을 돌보기 위한 CFRA 휴가를 허용함으로써 관련 권리를 확대했습니다.

3. Pay Data Reporting

2021년부터 Senate Bill 973은 직원이 100명 이상이고, 연방법에 따라 연간 연방 고용주 정보 보고서 (EEO-1)을 제출해야 하는 고용주들에게 연간 급여 데이터 보고서를 California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH)에 제출하도록 요구합니다. 연방에서 특정한 10개의 직업 범주에 속하면 보고서에 인종, 민족 및 성별에 따른 직원 수와 근무한 시간이 포함되어야 하며, 또한 해당 직원들의 연간 소득이 U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics in the Occupational Employment Survey에서 사용하는 급여 범위 내에 포함되어야 합니다. 고용주는 매년 3월 31일에 급여 데이터 보고서를 DFEH에 제출해야 합니다. DFEH는 고용주들을 위하여 직원 인정 기준의 충족 조건에 대한 설명 및 지침을DFEH 웹사이트에 발표했습니다.

4. 캘리포니아의 COVID-19 관련 보완 유급 병가

2021년 3월 29일부터 Senate Bill 95가 시행 되었습니다. 이 법안은COVID-19 관련 사유로 직원에게 보완 병가를 내어주는 고용주의 의무를 재건하고 전국에 25명 이상의 직원을 둔 고용주를 대상으로 캘리포니아 직원에게 최대 80시간의 추가 유급 병가를 제공할 것을 요구합니다. 또한, 유급 병가에 대하여 기존 사유 외 다음과 같은 적격 사유가 추가되었습니다: (1) COVID-19 백신 접종 예약 참석, (2) 직원의 근무 또는 재택근무를 방해하는 COVID-19 백신 관련 증상 경험, (3) COVID-19 관련 검역 또는 격리 명령을 받거나 의료 서비스 제공자에게 검역을 권고 받은 가족 구성원 돌보기, 그리고 (4) 학교 또는 아동 보호 관리 시설이 COVID -19와 관련된 사유로 인해 폐쇄된 경우. 이 법안은 2021년 3월에 제정되었으나 2021년 1월 1일로 소급 적용됩니다. 따라서 고용주들께서는 직원들의 COVID-19관련 휴가 요청을 재검토하는 것을 권장합니다.

< Previous Post Next Post >

Find an Attorney

Each of the Firm's offices include partners, associates and a professional staff dedicated to meeting the challenge of providing the firm's clients with extraordinary service.